painting and armatures

Hi I am trying to create a 3d model flip phone
I am very new to blender :smiley:

any ways I have two questions
Q1 I have painted part of the phone: but when I rotate the phone to the other side all I see is a hollow area and I can t seem to paint the surface.

Q2 I tried to add armatures to the phone so that I can have a flip open and close animation but the armatures dont seem to be working

please help
I have attached my file for easy understanding

Attachments

flip phone 07.blend (457 KB)

wow, that’s really odd, I’ve never seen it do that before. There must be a glitch in the way blender understands your model. What you have is an odd kind of Normals problem. The faces in your microphone and ear-piece are pointing INWARDS instead of outwards. For the mouthpiece (I think, anyway, it’s the purple and red bit) you can just select all your faces and press CTRL+N.

For the ear-piece, this doesn’t work immediately, for some reason, so to clear out any problems caused by vertices being too close together/overlapping, select all the vertices in the ear-piece and use Remove Doubles (press W to bring up the menu, then just pick the command from there), then convert your mesh to quads (alt+J), then add your two edge-loops back to the outside of the model (to sharpen the edges), THEN press ctrl+N and your problem should be fixed.

EDIT: I’m not sure what’s going on with the armatures, what are the empties there for? You shouldn’t need them, from what I can see.

hi john,

Thank you for helping me with the first part

this is supposed to be a flip phone. http://www.earthtones.com/data/138/phones2.jpg
I am trying to animate the top part of the phone
rotate the armature “top” around the x axis and constrain the y

As I am noobie :spin: I haven’t been able to figure it out??

thanks
Nate