Panning viewports doesn't work - Blender 2.64 Mac

Hi there

I’m new to Blender, former Lightwave user, and so far, I’m very impressed! The UI is complex but kinda similar to LW so, I like it. One problem though.

As far as I can tell, all the mouse and key combo functions work as the should. With one exception. Panning in all viewports (top, front, right, perspective) doesn’t. I googled this problem, found nothing. Well, found some similar problems but way older Blender versions and nothing that really applies to me. I tried to change the user prefs (different mod keys other than shift), nope. I tried to change the mouse settings in the system prefs (Mac) to no avail. As I said, zooming, rotating, selecting, ALL other mouse functions work exactly as they should. Panning? No go.

I hope somebody can shed some light on this cause I’m eager to learn Blender and bring one of my old Lightwave characters over. The rigify feature alone is worth the learning curve for me. Rigging in LW was so cumbersome, it really took all the fun out of the whole process, including animation.

I didn’t do any 3D work the past couple years, but mainly because my LW license was expired and the version I had was just not fun to work with. Seeing how much better this can work, I really want to get back in the game!

I really don’t know whether or not this is the right place to post this but I also want to thank all the developers for bringing a pro caliber 3D animation software like Blender to the masses!

System Info
Mac Pro Quad-Core Intel Xeon
Mac OS X 10.6.8
Mac extended keyboard (with numpad and everything)
Logitec 3-button-mouse with scrollwheel

Blender 2.64.0, r51232

Thanks for any help!

Cheers
Uwe