Parametric objects in Python

I have made a Python framework to deal with parametric objects, in particular parametric 3D objects.
To design a new type of parametric object, you specify a set of parameters such as width and height and a versatile Python class is automatically created for you.
It contains Mesh exports to Blender through BPython. There are a few example classes implemented, such as Sergio Moura’s Bolt (http://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?t=101742).
Everything is free to download at www.spyderware.nl (Python 2.5 required). Documentation and tutorials are on the website.

I am a programmer and not a modeller, and my knowledge of Blender is very limited. I would appreciate very much any feedback and suggestions for improvement.
Hopefully, a tighter integration with Blender is possible, so that parametric objects can not only be imported into Blender as Meshes, but edited within Blender as well.

EDIT: I made a Spyder parametric object editor for Blender: download it at www.spyderware.nl/spyder/splender.tar: look for post #16 of this thread for installation instruction and details.

hi,

every now and then there are people complaining about the lack of parametric modeling in Blender. hopefully they’ll find your system and give it a try … i might too, but am not experienced in that really so can’t comment that relevantly.

btw i like your approach of having the py lib working both in and outside of Blender.

~Toni

Thanks! It should be fairly easy to use if you don’t mind creating your parametric objects by script instead of by UI.
I could create a Blender UI generator for Spyder models. But once you create the object in Blender, it’s still dumb meshes instead of editable objects.
To solve that, you need something that looks like a mesh but is under the control of a Python script.

Hopefully this attracts some attention from the Blender devs because I really need their help…

hi, these could help a little,
check the scripts wiki index