Parenting objects to a rigged model?

I am a Newbie, so please excuse me if I am missing something obvious in this glitch I have come up with.
I have just successfully finished rigging my model but realised that there some further objects that should follow the main object when animated. In object mode, I tried to make the secondary objects children of the main (now rigged) object Parent, but when I returned to Pose mode the main object had lost its rigging from its Armature. Then I tried in Object mode to join object meshes as solution, but came across the same outcome. Is it always necessary to Parent all meshes before any rigging is done?
Please let me know how I can get round this. Thanks

Cafangeles,

I’m no expert, but I have recently finished this tutorial. In the tutorial, they use a Master bone in the rig that permits moving the entire character using a single bone. Here
The bone can also be used to parent other objects to, and will follow the character.

Best of Luck!

I had the same problem and probably this is a good solution!

I have noticed that when trying to parrent a group of objects (some of them parrented already ) to a main object - the previous parrenting was lost and all objects are now children of that main object. And that is the reason to separate the armature from the object.

I don’t know why Blender breaks the previous parrentings, but it will be nice if there is a way to keep them.

Hmmm, I don’t understand what you’re trying to do.

If you’ve used an armature modifier to deform a mesh then you don’t usually need to parent the mesh to the armature. If you do parent it, you parent it as a normal parent, not an armature deform parent (because the deform option is essentially another armature modifier and this will cause you trouble).