Parenting pole targets, hands, and feet to master bone?

Hello,

I’m a noob to rigging. I found a great resource to learn how to use IK constraints and pole targets here:

http://books.google.com/books?id=SVoOyq7un1YC&pg=PT207&lpg=PT207&dq=blender+knee+target&source=bl&ots=xENkRSi0gF&sig=UGSMTeDq-KawysPasbIq4zRMdc4&hl=en&sa=X&ei=hvVCT5-oMMTV0QHaoZ2_Bw&ved=0CF0Q6AEwBw#v=onepage&q&f=false

My question is: How do I rig so that the feet, hands and pole targets move with the master bone in pose mode?

Also, Why is l_foot shrinking?

see attached blend fileCharacter Step 8 Armature vertex groups assigned arms and legs.blend (1.33 MB)

I’m not finished with the vertex groups yet.

Thanks for the help!

Looked at this file last night, but didn’t respond as I was busy. I see no problem with l-foot shrinking. What I did see was a major problem between the left and right side. The left and right sides of the armature don’t match in edit mode and they should, sure you have posed them to be really close, but that’s not the same. It also appears that you are weight painting it yourself, which is a good thing, but I think you are doing it manually and not taking advantage of blender’s tools to help you out. Blender can mirror your weight painting from one side to the other, so you only need to weight paint one side of the mesh…

If you are still working on this, post up your most recent file, and I’ll give you a few tips to save time and fix it up… As to the question of where to parent the bones you’re asking about, we’ll discuss that too…

Randy

Randy,

Thanks for the help. I’m a high school art teacher, trying to pass on to my students what they desperately want to learn. I did parent the armature to the mesh, with automatic weights. I got an error and I assigned vertex groups to bones. I’d love to know how to weight paint in a mirror method!