Particle / Field question

Hi, I’m just getting started with Blender particles (using the new particle system), and had a few questions. I come from a 3DS Max background, where I’ve used Particle Flow extensively, and I’m trying to evaluate Blender as an alternative / addition in my pipeline.

I also have been unable to find documentation on the new particle system; just the old one, so I apologize if these questions are covered elsewhere. If someone could point me to any documentation that might exist, I would appreciate it.

1. I’m trying to use the “texture” field to add some smooth turbulence to a particle system. Is there any documentation for this field anywhere? I’m not sure I understand exactly what it’s doing. It seems to not update correctly until I change the falloff type. For example, I create a cloud texture, assign it to the field, and then change the size of the cloud texture, but I don’t see this update until I refresh the falloff type (change from sphere to something else and then back to sphere). I don’t know if I’m doing something wrong, or what. I’m using v2.45.17 on WinXP.

2. Is there any way to have the particle system automatically update when you change a parameter without starting the animation over again from the beginning?

3. How can I affect the size / shape of a particle? I can’t seem to find those options anywhere.

Thanks in advance!

Try the links on this page: http://www.blender.org/development/release-logs/blender-246/particles/

Yes, you can update the particle systems automatically: on the Physics panel press the Baking button then press Auto. Can slow things down though if you have a lot of particle systems on Auto and a slow machine.