particles from particles?

Hi Folks, noob here, so apologies if/when this turns out to be a trivial problem.

A brief description of what I want to do. I have a plane, onto which i have used particles to spread a random distribution of a modelled object (obj1). From those objects I then want a random pulse of a different object to be emitted. I had hoped Blender would copy whatever modifications are done to obj1 onto those distributed over the plane, but apparently not.

That is probably a trivial problem, but I am still scrabbling around the bottom of that steep learning curve!

Many thanks

I don’t really understand you problem here, but here’s something that could get you on the right track.

• Add a particle system to your plane and set the render type to None under the Render tab in the particle settings.
  • Select obj1 and add a particle instance modifier, choose your plane as object. You can play around with the alive born dead settings as well.
  • Add a particle system to obj1 and check the Use Modifier Stack in the Emission settings. Make sure that obj1’s particle system is below its particle instance modifier in the modifiers stack. Set render type to None as well
  • Finally select the second object (say it’s called obj2) that you want emitted from obj1 and add a particle instance modifier with obj1 as input.

With this setup you should see the plane emitting obj1, and each instance of obj1 emitting obj2.

Blender’s particle system currently has a few flaws however, so here’s a few heads up:

• the amount of particles set in obj1’s particle system will be the total amount of instances obj1 will emit. Say your plane emits 10 obj1 and you want 100 obj2 emitted from each obj1 instance, you’ll have to set obj1’s particle settings to emit 10*100 = 1000 particles.
  • sometimes particles aren’t updated well when you make changes to the system. A way to force blender to update changes is to change the particle amount to any value and back to the wanted number.