Particles in 2.42?

I have been trying to get 2.42 on WindowsXP to generate particles for two hours now and I am completely stumped.

I create a plane.

I hit f7 and make a new particle effect.

I open the particle motion tab and set a value of 1.0 to Z force.

I hit Alt-A to playback and see nothing in the 3D view (I do see the little frame counter churning along).

I have itterated through many different permutations of applying velocity settings, creating vGroups from the selected verts and assigning those in the particle motion tab, etc… And always the same. Nothing. I am sure that this is a simple thing to do and yet I still get nothing. A humbling experience for one who considers themself to be a professional particle monkey in Maya.

I would love some help with this. I want to understand how to get into Blenders particles to the same extent that I have with Maya.

How do I make a basic emission system from scratch? Please assume that I have never used Blender before (which I really haven’t). Thanks.

Are you sure you’re in Object mode? You won’t see particles in edit mode; hit Tab key to switch. Otherwise your settings should work fine.

Maybe the particle panel shouldn’t be available in EDIT mode then ? :confused:

Mike

I’ve tried it in both modes - but now am focusing on Object mde.

One thing I had not tried was letting the playback more than once. It seems that I need to run through all the frames (no particles visible) twice. Then hit escape and then Alt+A a second time to see the particles.

Tell me this is not how things usually work! Would this be a good time to download v2.42a and see if that is any better behaved?

Thanks!

@mike: I guess it is misleading that you can adjust a particle system with the panels in edit mode, but can only playblast them in Object mode.

@meesto: It’s not supposed to work that way. Does it only happen in OpenGL, or do you have this problem when you try to render particles as well?

CD38: I’ve figured it out.