Path AI...and an apology.

I apologize for asking so many questions lately, but I am working on a new project and doing a lot of things I’ve never done before. So anyway:

I need an AI where I can make an animated object follow a path. I was going to use Doc Holiday’s WayPoints system, but it didn’t work right.:confused: All that happened was the object fell over…

…that’s all…

so help?

doing a pathfinding it’s pretty hard, if you haven’t any idea of how to do this you should lower our expectation … Maybe try the johando fps ai kit pretty usefull !

I’m sure you’ll be able to modify it to your needs.

here is pathfollowing without any code
http://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?t=100512&highlight=simple+bot

No need to apologize… :wink:

mmph!: the first page wont open. can you check it? errr…actually…I dont know if this is waht I want. I basically need an AI system where I can have an animal wander around either randomly or on a set path and go away at a certain time and point. Also, when you shoot it, it will die. heheh…

now any ideas?

search button fps ai kit …

you can have a random very easy with the Simple AI.

on the condition that you want it randomly walking around just have a random actuator set to INT and the property for the current node.

This may or may not require python, but I just thought up that you could use just two directional objects for a path, one that turns the object right and one that turns it left.

Mmph!: I like…so I have a random number that sets what point to go to next? hmmmm…I’ll work on it…

why don’t you use johando one ?

with the simple AI there is a property that denotes which node the bot is currently following.
On the condition that you want your animal to wander off the path, (collision, a timer, a ray to detect the player etc…), just use the random actuator to poke a random value into the current node property.

hope that makes sense