Performance Issues

Whats up guys, i’m a newb, hehe. Been using blender on and off for about 6 months. Here is my problem: I just bought a new comp, AMD Athlon 64, 1Gig RAM, 250Gig HD 7200RPM but when I run blender in editing mode it runs kind of slow. I’ve never had this problem before. I’ve updated my drivers for my graphics card, oh yeah , thats an ATI Radeon Xpress 200, integrated 256mb. Any thoughts on why it would be running slow in edit mode? I’ve only been trying to add text.

To give you an idea of how slow it runs, it takes about 1 second to click on anything or add anything to the project. Usually, on my other comps, even my laptop, this was pretty much instantaneous. Thanks for the feedback.

Hello Ranger84!

Welcome to Elysiun!

Are you using windows or linux?

I have about the same computer as you do and have no problem at all . The problem probably lies in your configuration. I use Linux and it is smooth as it can be.

If you are running windows, you might want to check which other services/program are running, which could slow down Blender.
As of a general experience on both windows and Linux, Blender was always faster on Linux for me. But this is a common debate here.

Please let us know what OS you are using.

Cheers!

TW

My bad, its XP Media Center Edition. My laptop runs blender smoother than this comp but the render time is longer. Never had a problem with blender until this one, been kinda thinking its the Media Center Edition of XP, not sure what the difference is in this and regular XP though. Kind of frustrating at times, hehe. Thanks for the help!!

Hmm… I never tried XP Media Center but I believe they have not yet released a 64 bit edition.
Since you have a 64 cpu, it might decrease some performance because of software/hardware imcompatibility or misusage.

If you want to have better compatibility on that level you should be using Windows XP Professional x64 Edition.