Physical simulations

Hello All !

I am interested in physical simulation for blender. I have some ideas, but I can not choose the best (the most usefull). So I’m looking for advice. So here they are:

1. Simulation of fire and smoke.
  2. Simulation of cloth.
  3. Simulation of rigid bodies with the accent on accuracy.
    What of this features would be the most usefull ?

I’d like to apply my project to Google Summer of Code. I’d like to have mentor, who will help me to get into the code of blender and well guide me. Also taking part in SoC will let me not to work at summer and take my time for the project. So I’m looking for mentor also.

Short background:
I am a 4th year student of MIPT (http://phystech.edu/), Department of General and Applied Physics. My speciality is simulation. In a few month I’ll finish my diploma connected with gas flowing through the complex structure.
I also contributed to Step physical simulator (http://edu.kde.org/step/).

There’s been lots of wishing for a clothe simulator, from what I’ve seen. There was one in progress, quite a good one, too, but apparently the creator suffered some health problems. Considering it’s open source, maybe you might be able to pick up where he left off.

Edit: http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/BlenderDev/ClothSimulation

There’s a link to the cloth simulation if you’re interested.

I think fire and smoke would be great. but it would be great it it were fast to calculate and render.

And would be very benificial if it able to deal with stuff like mist… clouds…
and perhaps have a 2d or 2.5d alternative which could use the solver on a plane (like clouds, or candles seen from one angle, or layered mist with vortexex and stuff able to go through it)

I am interested in teaming up with a GSOC winner to help with user interface and usability from an early stage. Take some of the weight off. so if you win look me up.

Alltaken