Pillbox (foil/plastic attempt)

Just thought I would post this for any possible feedback on it. I’m very new both to Blender, had it for 3 months, and polygon modelling as well since my only previous 3D experiences has been building with primitives in Bryce. This is my very first attempt at doing something more-or-less photorealistic, not that it necessarily came out that way.

I wanted to learn more about how materials work in Blender, so I decided to have a go at the type of foil/plastic pill wrap thingies that medicine often comes in. Just for fun I slapped my own company logo and some goofy text (in Swedish unfortunately) on the box instead of some other brand. Anyway the foil and plastic material is really the focus of this little exercise, so any Comments and/or Criticism is very welcome! The image, rendered in YafRay:

http://www.moosenest.com/blender/pillbox.jpg

There ARE a couple things I know myself I could have improved, or that looks “wrong”, but I won’t list them right now as I’m curious about other peoples first reactions. The boring white background is intentional as I wanted it “product photo style”.

The pills are really “Digital” looking, they need more texture, even the plastic coated pills have a litle more texture than that. The inside of the box needs a little grain. the outside box looks a little to perfect.

I love the plastic around the pills through, grat job. overall great render just needs some minor work.

-Christopher

Good effort:) Move the capsules so they are not perfectly in line, that may help the realism.

I agree. And flip a few of them over. I doubt that all pills in a box come in the same way!

Nice work!