Pilot - organic sculpt in blender - WIP

Here is the latest render. If You are interested in the journey, please read on :slight_smile:

Now how it has started…

This is my first attempt to sculpting in blender and to digital sculpting at all. I did few things in clay some time ago, but I consider myself a noob in that matter. Sculpting took me about 6 hours. The main shape is nearly established. Next step would be refining lips, eyes and nose with some good reference images (didn’t use them for the first stage of sculpting).
Render and lighting made in blender, which is new to me, so the quality is not top notch.

Any advise\critique welcomed.
Cheers.

14 Likes

This is breathtaking. I wouldnt even dare to post my sculpting attempts haha. Bravo!

1 Like

Awesome work.
Did you sculpt on the skin details with a texture?

Thank You :slight_smile:

For sculpting I’ve used “clay strips” only. I think it gives a nice feel to the sculpture, it reminds me a bit of a real clay. I would not call it details, rather tool marks ;). I will be slowly smoothing things out and adding some details later on.

1 Like

Time for some exploration around the eyes. I wanted them to look goatish-cephalopodish-alienish… Mainly having fun sculpting and texture painting.

5 Likes

I think that “little details” such as this new treatment of the eyes is extremely important, from a storytelling point of view. (With this latest visual introduction, you just now introduced story.)

As long as your character looks “sufficiently exotic,” and yet “sufficiently human,” and then “left-to-right symmetrical enough not to give the cinematographer a heart attack,” the audience is pretty-quickly going to tire of your artistry and will want to get to the story beyond it.

If this shot were a passing-shot leading immediately to “a plunge into his/its eyes,” then this immediately-riveting complexity will be enough for “the pass.”