Placka (Old Town Athens) * UPDATE *

I decided to have a go at this scene because it would help develop my texturing skills, something I have little experience of, usually using blender for product modelling and design. It came about after a trip to Athens where I managed to grab a few hours to look around. I loved the Plaka area, the Café culture and steep narrow alleyways. The character of the old buildings was fabulous. I have tried to recreate the same sun baked character of the old town.

Some of you may have seen the development of the scene in the Work In Progress thread.Hope you like it.
Rob

Edit:
Reworked image following some sound comments: Removed a number of sharp edges, remapped the stone wall, more plants, improved cliff face and warmed up the lighting.
New Render

Original Image.

Vertices: 841,179
Rendered: Blenders internal
Textures: Gimphoto

Attachments

Looks really good. I would suggest adding the glass reflection on the lamp to the right aswell. Very efficient use of polies and textures. GJ!

beautiful …

I was looking a bit more and realised there are (allmost) no dead leafs or any discoloring on the organic stuff. So… that is one more thing you could improve. GJ again!

Wow nice job. I love to see this great image and then see that there is hardly anything there! There is only like half of a building and everything just gets cut off. But looks great though! Great image!

Looks great, robbur. Five stars. Are you going to try any other renderers on it?

This looks really nice! Good work! :yes:

But I think you can improve it:
-Give the sun (or lamp, whatever you’re using) a more yellow/orange colour and your scene will look a lot warmer. Maybe you can put the lamp somewhere else so that you have more shadows of the plants?

-Distortion make things look realistic. Putting some garbage, dirt and textures on the wall, ground and rock (in the back) will increase the level of realism. (Right now, it looks like some objects aren’t textured yet)