Plane to cube help and sizing too please before I do more

I have looked in the other threads and couldn’t find what I needed so far.

I am designing a model train for Australian modellers. Instead of designing in plastic and molding/casting it, I thought I would give the 3D modelling a go. I am a newbie to 3D modelling in a CAD program so please ‘go gentle’ and explain in beginner terms! Haha. I am usually quite literate with the computers and have just started using Blender 2.69.

I started with the base as a plane. I extruded this up to form the walkways and get the correct height and curves at the front. I have drawn a couple of cubes to do the long hood and the cab. When I ‘select all’ by pressing A, it selects all the cubes but not the plane. I don’t want to go too far yet until I know that I have started right.
Does this matter when I come to 3D printing? Will it print this plane too?
If not, how would I get the plane to turn into a solid object like a cube function so I can select all of the areas at once? Basically like a copy function but change it from a plane to a cubed item. Will I have to retrace it using a new cube? I will also later need to hollow out the middle of the train so it can fit over the chassis I have for it, and not sure if the plane would hollow too.

The other question I have is that I have imported the plans as a background so I can work off them easier. When I rotate the item so I can see it better, I know that I have to go back to ‘top’ to get the plans back so I can continue, and I have found the quad view too! When it comes to the size of the model to be printed, I need it to be exactly 112mm long. Is there a way to tell the program that the walkway from end to end is to be that size? I have a friend with a 3D printer and he just gets the STL file on an SD card, plugs it in and it starts printing. I don’t want my model to be huge by mistake.

I hope I have made myself clear for these questions. :confused:

John.