Plans to make a game; I need a place to start; a few questions I hope you can answer

Skip to the section labeled “Questions” if you want to see my questions in a concise form! Otherwise, if you don’t mind, you can read my introduction below.

This is my first thread at these forums, and I know my postcount may suggest I’m a noob. Well, I am a noob to the game engine and Python, but I do have plenty of knowledge on modeling and have been using Blender for over a year. I’m also not entirely new to BlenderArtists; many a Google search has turned me to threads here with the answers to my problems. But I’ve finally decided to register myself, since hoping someone else has already asked a particular question can only get me so far :stuck_out_tongue:

Anyways, I intend to create a massive role-playing game with nice graphics, fun gameplay, and interesting storyline. But I’m no fool who thinks that’s going to be easy. I intend to work on this project for several years, and have no idea if I’ll ever even come close to finishing it. I also do not intend to start the project any time soon. First I wish to become better acquainted with the game engine, Python, and Blender as a whole. I’ve already done a few small incomplete “games” to try out the GE.