Platform of choice?

(PowerMacG4) #1

I know this topic is dragged out.
But with the recent big changes in Blender 3D, what is folks platform of choice for the new open source Blender?
Please list your choices and why.
Also if can DON’t bash other OS’s.
My choice:

1. SGI
    IRIX is sweet, I can run GCC on it.
    Pretty little box.
    UNIX
  2. PowerMac Mac OS X
    OS X is sweet, I can run GCC on it.
    Pretty Little box.
    UNIX

(lycanth) #2

At the risk of sounding like an OS zealot… :stuck_out_tongue:

Linux. Because I like developing in the Unix environment and because I’m a penniless student who can’t afford the pretty Macs. :slight_smile:

(Timothy) #3

windows at the moment,… but I am using linux alot for server stuff so am thinking about using it more for desktop stuff aswell.

and ofcourse if I develop for Blender I will code on both windows and linux to see if the code works!

(stef) #4

Get the system with the best OpenGL implementation per USD.

I’m afraid this will be a IBM compatible PC running Microsoft Windows. For coding you still can use Linux in a dual-boot configuration.

I don’t use Microsoft products for several reasons, so i’m using Linux only. (and have to cope up with Nvidia’s buggy proprietary OpenGL drivers)

If you’re thinking about using Linux for modelling, you really should ask an expert about which video hardware to buy, and which OpenGL drivers to use.

Ok, we don’t have to discuss the quality of OpenGL on SGI machines, but what about MacOSx? How buggy/fast is OpenGL on a Mac?

Stef(an).

(bmax) #5

windows… and dont you dare change that… :x

(emtilt) #6

I use Windows because it is all I have access to. Dont you dare get rid of Windows support.

(rwv01) #7

For me it’s Windows. Not because I think it’s the best os but because it’s compatible with the most software. I need Blender for Windows because that’s my primary os.

(Enzoblue) #8

Windows - cause I can rid myself of 99.9% of the compatability issues in one fell swoop.