Please advise Blender or Sketchup for this?

Hi, everyone. I am new here and considering Blender as my first 3D tool to start with. I would like to have a suggestion if I would do Blender first or start with Sketchup Pro as most in my research say SketchUp is easier for complete beginners but my ultimate goal for the learning is to do these kinds of videos https://www.youtube.com/c/Virtuscapes

I hope somebody here can share their thoughts if where should I start to generate these types of videos especially creating or maybe if available importing models to get started easily with animating flame, coffee smoke, raindrops or leaves, snow, and fireplace.

Thank you!

Welcome to BA :slight_smile: I would recommend learning Blender over sketchup for several reasons:

• Blender is easier to use
  • Blender has wayyyy more features
  • Blender has more comprehensive documentation, more tutorials, and a larger community
  • SketchUp is for very specific purposes. Blender is generalized 3D software
  • Blender is free
2 Likes

Hello !

Blender seems to fit better what you’re looking for, but it has a steep learning curve.
So I suggest before trying to do these Virtuscapes, first invest at least 3/6 month on learning the basics, especially if you’re new to CG in general.

Because the final result, even if not the most complicated thing to do, relies on a lot of individual things you’ll have to learn and each one can take like 2 weeks / a month to master at a basic level. And it’s easy to get overwhelmed by all these technicalities if there are too much of them at the same time.

So start by doing tutorials on basic modeling, lighting , materials.
Then move on to do grass, snow, importing objects
Then simple animations,
then more FX like smoke, fire etc…

That’s already a lot, be prepared to spend some time…
And eventually once you’re confident you get a basic knowledge on these you can try to build a more complex scene that mix all of these elements.