Please help me with this problem.

I have just started using blender and am still learning how to use it. I have very little knowledge about most technical things (such as API, F-curves and a lot more), so I hope I am given an answer I will understand. Anyway, the problem is that every time I try to open the user preferences (I am planning to use the ATN? landscaping tool, for my first project), the whole program immediately becomes unresponsive and I can either shut it down or ‘search for a solution on the internet’. It is probably some kind of problem with my graphics card (I have a laptop) or RAM or something (again, I know very little about this kind of stuff), but i might have missed something. So please help me and try to give me a solution.

Thankyou,
Ray Green

Do you have python installed? The landscaping tool is a addon, and most blender addons are python scripts. When you open blender a black box will appear (You will have 2 Blender tabs). Open the black box and read it to find out if python was found/initialized.

can’t be that. Python comes packaged with Blender.
sorry don’t have an answer for you
Post this question in the support section of the forum, you’ll get more attention there

Really? When I started in 2.4x I had to install python seperatly to use add-ons. Didn’t know they started packedging it.

First of all, thank you for the advice and help, i really appreciate it.
Also, the black box does pop out, but then disappears and leaves only one tab. I am not sure if there is any text, it goes too fast, but i don’t think it says ‘python was found/initialized’. Besides that, i looked at the files and there is indeed a python file, however, there is also another file called ‘scripts’, which contains other files including ‘addons’, ‘templates’ and ‘modules’… Is it possible that something was misplaced?
Anyway, i will post this in the support section (please tell me if there is a specific place to post it) and i hope someone will be able to solve this.