Please Help my character modeling

I’m getting real sick of going to model a character only for them to turn out looking like sh*t. It’s really frustrating because I have definitely gotten worse. When I started learning, my stuff didn’t look great but it at least looked appealing, Now all my work looks terrible and its really unmotivating.

I keep taking longer gaps from modeling because I am so unmotivated due to how bad everything looks.

Sometimes it’s good to take a break,
it doesn’t look that bad,

Ty for being nice, but I think looking back what happened is that I’m feeling burnt out with art, also straying too far from my concept art.
Good news is next semester I’ll be taking a 3D modeling corse, tbh this was a half vent half asking for advice lol

I think you use poly modelling? I would then advise to let the details out at the beginning.

For example, you just start with a sphere for the head and a cylinder for the mouth area. Connect them and try to get a great basic shape form. Later you add the eyes, the mouth and the teeth.

The more time you spend on the basics, the easier it will be to detail it. The teeth are compared to your concept in front of the mouth and not framing it. The ears are good and match the reference.

I think sculpting can be more fun, but only with a tablet, but that would also require some extra steps after it. If you have a tablet, i would try that.

1 Like

Sculpting_Test.blend (3.2 MB)
I think sculpting is the way to go in this case. I’m not a great sculptor but managed to do this in about 30 min, and having some fun at the same time.

I recently watched this video and it helped understand how to maneuver around when you are a beginner.

Blender Tutorial - How to sculpt stylized character head

File attached for you to play with if you want to mess around with it. Good luck and hope that helps a bit. Happy Holidays!!

By the way, yours was pretty good. Just take your time.