Please help with rendering problem

Hi, first of all I want to say that i tried to search for a previous thread with my problem, but, although I found several ones with rendering problems, I could not find one that pertains to my specific issue. So i have no choice but to start a new thread.
I am very new at this, I have just started using blender and on the first project that i am doing, i am not able to export the project at all.
I have tried to render as different types (H.264, and a few others of the normal types i usually use when working on Final Cut), but it just does not work. I tried this twice, left the computer rendering over night, for the first 5-6 hours it seems to be rendering normally, then I go to sleep and wake up the next day, to find Blender has closed, then i find a .mov file on the folder where its supposed to go, but Quicktime tells me “this is not a movie file” and I cannot open with any other programs such as VLC, or try to convert it to another video format but also I get an error message.
I am not sure if Blender is just crashing and will not work in my computer or what…
Help please.

Painful isn’t it, encoding for hours to find it’s failed due to a crash, or the qualities not good enough, that somethings not quite right and need to re-encode some of it, banding problems, flicker, jitter, you name it.

I’d suggest rendering to image sequences like .png and then encode out after to your final movie codec(s). Image sequences means the bulk of blenders work is done, all the compositing calculations, image processing etc all is left is the encode out. If you decide you want to encode to a different codec for another purpose it’s straight forward to go from your master image sequences.

Trying to convert to another codec after encoding it out already is asking for trouble and quality loss.

Not all combinations work well in Blender, I have successfully produced .MOV for both Quicktime and VLC, I use the following setting (F10, Render Buttons):