Plunger, again

Folks,

I am new to Blender and have been playing around with the idea of animating a plunger, as in here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Plunger. I have a model, I have a rig, but I don’t seem to be able to marry them. The movement of the model is not smooth. So I was wondering if any of you guys could lay down a road map of how you would go about it.

My biggest problem is the rounded rubber bottom bit. Even after I assigned vertices manually to the rig, the movement is not smooth. It seems that because vertices of the curved surface are not all equally far away from the bone that the model gets squashed in the oddest places, if you know what I mean. My rig consists of several bones in a straight line for the stick and four sort of spider legs at the bottom. Only moving the rig looks very much like what I want to achieve.

I want to personalise the plunger, in the end it should happily hop across the scene. Ever saw that desktop lamp which Pixar uses in the logo? Guess what inspired me.

I attached piccies of the model (which is very straight forward) and the rig. The four vertical bones at the end of the legs are the IK targets, the center bone realises the floor constraint. Again, any pointers would be greatly appreciated, let me know if you need more infos.

Cheers
Lasse

Attachments

IMHO, you shouldn’t be using an armature for the bottom of the plunger. I would look into using a lattice or a different kind of deformation.

http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Manual/Animation/Lattice_Animation

our shape keys

QFT. A lattice for something this simplistic would probably be your best friend.

Ahhh, shape keys, lattice deformation… a whole new world out there.

Cheers for the help
Lasse

have fun
but if you get stuck you know where to ask :slight_smile:

Speaking of being stuck…