Portal to Hyperspace

Hello guys!

This here is my entry to this Weekend challange week long special edition.

I’d like some adivice and critiques over my materials setup, since I am still not so good at texturing.

http://www.4freeimagehost.com/uploads/82ac96b8f8c7.jpg

I know there is some text that is hard to read in the “warning” sign. I will re-render the image bigger, and maybe with higher OSA once I get home.

By the way, I have been using Blender for about six months, and I had no prior experience with 3D.

Given that the green beams cross the portal horizontally and vertically, I find it a bit difficult to avoid them;)

The idea is that the ships would be small enough to fit in 1/4 of the portal. Maybe I should increase its size?

So there are two lanes between the tubes to the left and the right? In that case, there should be a line between them, just like on a real road. Otherwise: Yes, increase the portal size.

You have a point. I will redesign the lanes so that they help coordenate better the traffic in/out the portal.

Better yet, just rotate the portal 45°.

Rock star idea.

I suggest making the portal fill most of the ring and adding a ship or two in the scene to give a scale reference. That way no one will be confused by the green beams’ locations.

@maspeir e Sycosys: Yep, I could do that, but then I would get a 3/4 of the portal wasted.

@Asano: I was planning to add a ship, but I will be busy in this weekend and I do not know if I can get it ready (and good looking) untill the entries close, even if I just use the half done one in my wip thread.

I decided to keep with the idea I got from the conversation with Jonathan_S.

Here is the result:

http://www.4freeimagehost.com/resized/a7ae4f3e47d6.jpg

how do you figure you loose 3/4 of the ring?
i don’t wanna be mean but that was mathematically wrong… have you taken geometry? graduated from some sort of higher education?