Practical time frame for completion of a project

Last week I started learning how to use Blender. My usual job is architecture but I’ve been tasked with using a game engine to build an environment that our client can walk around in and see the project in it’s completed state long before ground is broken.

My project is a fairly simple one but large. It’s slightly under 100,000 square feet with most of it open space. There are built in fixtures and equipment in most of the building. A large portion of the equipment is built of hundreds of small, highly reflective metal rods. In addition there are roughly 1200 light fixtures.

If I have any assistance in this it will be importing 3D models built in another program. All the assembly of the models, rigging the lighting and applying the materials will be done by me. Thankfully most of the equipment has already been modeled so I will be doing very little actual manipulation inside of Blender.

The rendering will be handled by utilizing roughly a dozen computers on our local network. Unfortunately only one of these computers will be dedicated to rendering, the rest are workstations being used from 9-5 M-F. The quality of the finished product does not need to be photorealistic but it should be as close as practical.

The only physics involved are doors need to open when clicked. The only triggers are light switches.

My question then is this: What would be a realistic time frame for completion of this project? OK, now that you’ve had a quick laugh at my expense, go clean up your monitor and keyboard and then a serious answer would be appreciated. I know this is a big project for a single noob to be attempting but the boss seems to think I’m some sort of genius so I must get it done.

I can promise that your boss doesn’t consider you to be “some sort of genius”.