pretty nbody simulation

Hi all,
First of all I have never used blender before.

I have created a nbody simulation which simulates the motion of multiple stars moving under the influence of gravity in Vpython which is producing acceptable results in terms of the physics but the output is extremely low quality (it just consists of black spheres on a white background). I was hoping to produce something as shown in the screenshots below where the red/orange coloured stars are static and only the white coloured stars are moving.

Is it possible to use blender to produce something like this?
If it is possible how do I feed the nbody code into blender - do I need to provide a CSV with the positions of the stars at each timestep and blender can render/animate the particles. I was thinking a CSV may become unmanageable if there are thousands of particles.

My main focus would be to have the smoke/lighting effects.

It would be nice to be able to interact with the simulation by being able to zoom in and rotate the screen which Vpython can do for me automatically but this is not the top priority.

Thanks in advance!

A few months ago I created an nbody star cluster simulation entirely within blender. This video shows about 500 stars in two small clusters contracting to their local centers and then colliding. I doubt that I did it the “right” way, and the code is sorry mess, but it does work.
From a high level this is what I did:

1. When the script is run, it creates a list of x,y,z star locations and radiuses
  2. It creates a single object called galaxy
  3. It iterates through the list creating vertices, edges and faces in the shape of a cube and assigns a material, using the bmesh module
  4. It renders the frame
  5. Blender moves to the next frame, which calls a handler function triggered by the frame change.