Problem Rigging cylinder with 4 Stages

Hi guys!

I am following this forum for a long time. The community is great. I am using blender to make some images and very short animations of superstructures like refuse collectors, tippers etc.

Because I am very new to the rigging and constraints and could not find any solution (there are some good tutorials but not for multy stage cylinders), there is a problem when I try to rig cylinder with four stages. You can find the blend file at the link below.

http://www.pasteall.org/blend/29041

When moving the top empy there is a delay between stages and also the cylinder rotates around his axis. How can I fix this? Is there a solution with armatures?

I will be grateful for your help. Thanks.

A solution using bones in a nondeforming armature.
The large wire cube is a custom bone shape whose scale controls the piston action. Be careful not to scale in pivot to 3D cursor mode! All other bones are hidden. There are no empties and you are free to drag or rotate the anchor end of the cylinder and everything should go with it.

Attachments

here’s the file…

Attachments

Piston_Rig_BA.blend (657 KB)

DruBan thank you very much. But I need to hook the top and the bottom ends as shown on the picture below. Also that red inlet must not swap around cylinder axis when the cylinder passes -x/+x when closing or opening. The application will be same as in the picture.

For this application - where the range of motion is fixed and there’s really no option in the movement except how much raising and lowering is going to happen the best choice is going to be an action constraint, just carefully do a frame by frame positioning of the pieces from full to minimum extension and save it as an action. Then give a bone or object an action constraint and use it to play the action to the degree necessary.