Problem with Bone Rotation Scaling Mesh

First of all, I have looked up and found many related questions and answers, but I couldn’t follow them or they didn’t seem to be stemming from the same problem. It’s also worth noting that I’m relatively new to this, haven’t done anything in blender for a few months thanks to school work, and this is the first character I’ve done with this kind of ‘design.’

On to the point, I’ve rigged some characters before so I didn’t expect any trouble with this one, but when I set the parenting to automatic weighting, and tried to pose it some, the mesh itself scales when I rotate the bone, leading to a bizarrely stretched hand and an unusable armature that I can’t animate with. I’m doing this for a personal project (a game), and I can’t do much without the basic model past make some new skins in the meantime. If anyone can take a look at this and tell me exactly where I went wrong and/or how to fix it (or especially if you could even fix the file and reupload it for me) I would be greatly appreciative. I’ve been messing with the model for an hour now to no avail, so even if the solution is massively obvious, I simply can’t seem to find it. Thanks very much in advance for any help, again it’s appreciated.

• pulsusego
    Basic_Cubeman_02.blend (786 KB)
    P.S. Let me know if there’s any questions or information needed, I’d be more than happy to help.

You’ve scaled your armature object along the Z axis for some reason. Don’t do object scaling on your armature. If you want to scale things, do it in Edit mode.

Also your mesh has two Armature modifiers. I think you parented it twice. Should only have one.