Problem with cloth modifier

I’m new here. I’m still new to blender and I have a question about the cloth modifier. I’m sorry if it’s in the wrong forum, I wasn’t sure to post it here on in the animation one. I modeled a sail boat and I want to use the cloth modifier to simulate the wind into the sail and flag. I’ve managed to do something fine, however, when I render the animation, the motion stop after a couple of frame (in the 100 range). Does somebody know why ? It’s the first time I use this function and I didn’t found any tutorial that would address this issue

PS. Sorry for my bad english, it isn’t my first language.
Thanks !

Hi, I’m new too… but I might be able to help.

In your Scene tab (F10), check the Animation tab (Anim). At the bottom, make sure the end frame is the same as the end frame of your animation (if your animation is 200 frames, make sure this number is 200). Let me know if this helps, or if you need more explanation.

(P.S. I just posted a thread too. However, my problem is I can’t get the cloth to render!)

Thanks for the reply, but this isn’t the problem. My end frame is above the number of frame where the anim stop.

By “Stop”, do you mean the sails appear to be full, but no longer flap or sway like cloth, or do you mean the sails suddenly become flat like planes again?

If the first is your problem, that is normal. Once the sails fill with wind (I assume you’re using an empty with the field type set to “Wind”), it will stay that way unless you animate the wind (getting stronger, weaker) or else add another empty set as wind facing a different direction.

To animate the wind, select your empty, hover your cursor over the “Fields” tab, and press “I” on your keyboard. Then select “Force Strength” and press enter. Move a few frames down in the animation and do the same thing (only decrease or increase the strength a bit).