Problem with Spin (lathe tool) -- I must be doing something wrong

Hi,

I’m very new to Blender so I want to apologize in advance for wasting you guys’ time on something that is very probably elementary. I’ve been researching possible solutions though, and I must say I haven’t been able to find any… that’s why I end up posting here.

I’ve been trying to model an acceptable hourglass for a while now, using the Spin tool (or modifier, or whatever it’s called!) I have succeeded in doing that quite a bunch of times, but also had to start again quite a bunch of times because I had problems when trying to render (top and bottom were way too thick, hourglass renders black when curve is closed prior to spinning, etc.) In the meantime, while starting anew once more, I thought it would actually be intelligent to model some water inside both the glass ‘bubbles’ of the hourglass, so I could animate it with Fluid Sim later on. As I planned to render with Indigo, I followed whatever instructions they gave (for modelling a wine glass with wine inside, which is basically the same thing as I’m trying to do) in the manual (overlapping the liquid and the glass, modelling the meniscus, etc.)

Here are my curves (prior to being converted to meshes and being spun.)
http://rapidshare.com/files/75451419/curve_Hourglass___liquid.blend.html