problem with subsurf. Noob in distress :(

(sixleaf) #1

Hey im very new to blender. Anyhooo probably a very dumb question but here goes. I was modelling (a very very boxy gun if you must know) Anyway half of this was done through extruding a cube out, and the rest was from generating in faces by selecting four vertices and then pressing f. Anyways a few mins in i got bored and wanted to see what it’d look like when subsurfed and smoothed. was all okish but when i selected it all, and subsurfed it, i got lots of weird joins where i had added faces im myself, the rest of it smoothed fine. How do i fix this?

Oh and another question…in order to get some faces in the right place i knifed in extra geometry but this made trianges, anyway to make it make quads? (yes i saw the post lower down in the forum about this but it went over my head when he said innvar or something)

Hmm thats all, thanks for any tips.

(lococobra) #2

Your normals are missaligned.

In edit mode:
Akey for select all - Space bar for menu - Edit - Normals - Recalculate outside

(sixleaf) #3

nope no luck doing that…the weird joins still there. :frowning: it just seems to smooth the faces separate to the rest of the mesh. have a i missed a step somewhere to fully join up the faces or something?

to show my problem heres a 2 cubes joined together with 4 faces and then subsurfed

http://www.sixleafclover.worldfreeweb.com/images/example.gif

instead of making one long sausage it makes it all segmenty. Why? And how do i fix this?

sorry if i wasnt clear about my problem

(Fligh) #4

If you cut that object in half you’ll find that the internal faces of the original cubes, where you have covered them with the newly created faces, are still there. Since they react the same to being subsurfed as do all the external (visible) geometry, they are pulling the surrounding faces inward.

%<

(cerin) #5