Problem with UV editing

Hello, friends, I am new to UV editing. I making WWII german helmet (the leather). Before texturing I have to mark seam after, after I try I have a dark blue wich mean is good but after that, I found an orange on the green line in the image and I don’t know how to fix the colour stretch to dark blue like the red line in the image? Can you please help me to solve the problem :pray:

To UV unwrap the green piece, I’d recommend making a seam around its edge, plus seams around the edges of the holes.

Honestly though, for something like that I’d just skip UV unwrapping and use object coordinates, box mapping, and blending, kinda like this.

Although, if it’s a deforming rigged mesh, then this wouldn’t work. I believe you’d have to UV unwrap for a deforming mesh to avoid the texture from moving around like this.

1 Like

I addition to what @BlenderSplendor said you might also want to clear the existing seams and redo them. You seem to have marked seams by making loop selections in Face mode, which has resulted in a multitude of unnecessary seams and single polygon UV islands. Make loop selections in Vertex or, preferably, Edge mode.

2 Likes

I follow your instruction and adding seams on the backside on the second image, but the colour is light green its so close to blue colour. What should i do next?

Ok, i will try later and copy the file

I wouldn’t get too caught up in analysing the stretch colours. Instead apply a temporary UV squares texture and see if it looks OK. The good thing about leather is that it does actually stretch a little.

You have separated out the holes which helps but you’ll also need to add one vertical UV seam inside each hole to let those polygons unwrap properly.

2 Likes

@JohnMalcolm1970 I followed your instructions with loop selections in Vertex mode and adding vertical seams, but the results are yellow. how do i fix it?