Problems with hard and soft edges / corners + other stuff.

Hey guys, so I’m back to work on a dormant project and I’m evaluating the pros and cons of a starting over. I feel like starting over might not be a bad idea since I can certainly do a lot of things better / cleaner. However I’m still learning so I’m still unsure how to approach a couple problems.

First off, after doing some reading I get the feeling that certain areas on my model are to densely sculpted, that is to say I may have used to many loop cuts etc. to finely control the shape before subdivisions are applied (see the detail of the rudder cut out / tail section). Maybe it’s just me but I feel like on tight curves the mesh becomes over complex. Perhaps the solution is to use more separate parts to form one larger component? Making things to “monolithic” is partly a carry over from my auto-cad experience, which seems to be able to form a nice uniform mesh for pretty much any shape.

Secondly, I have had some trouble creating a simple mesh that adequately defines tight curves like those found around the corners of the canopy windows. Even after subdivision the result is far from ideal. Again I suspect part of the problem is making to much as one part. Should I for instance make the canopy frame separate from the “glass”?

Finally how should I approach hard edges like the edges of panels etc. (by “hard” I mean sharp points or corners)? I have been using the “crease” function to form a tighter corner / edge on the selected geometry. This works fine usually but also seems to add undesirable artifacts when I define a rectangular cutout (introduces hard 90° corners) on a curved surface. Is there a better way of doing this? Thanks for the wisdom guys!