Problems with importing FBX from Daz and CC3

I’m not clear on the conventions here, so forgive me if this is the wrong place, but it involves other software. I also posted a question in the technical support forum, if that’s wrong I’ll remove it.

Anyway, I’m trying to import assets, up to and including rigged figures with poses, clothing, animations from Character Creator 3 and/or Daz Studio to Blender, but having little success beyond the basic meshes in OBJ format. I have watched numerous videos but I am new to Blender and there seem to be difference between 2.83 and the various versions these videos are based on, and I can’t get decent results. I have installed Diffeomorphic, but the instructions don’t match what I’m seeing at the Daz end (although the procedure for exporting fbx and dae seems to work), but even though it installs cleanly in Blender, it doesn’t import anything.

If anyone can advise me on ANY reliable method for importing as much as possible of rigged, posed, animated figures to Blender I would deeply appreciate it. And, please, be specific, because on other fora I receive some ‘just do (vague thing)’ answers that appear to be exactly what I’m already doing. If you know a specific procedure that works, please let me know!

Stick with Diffeomorphic - it works (almost) flawlessly. Here are the steps I use (this is assuming you’ve installed the scripts in both DS and Blender):

1. Set up your character in DS, clothing, materials, shape, etc. Save the file as a SCENE file.
  2. In the “Scripts” section of the DS program, double-click on the “export_basic_data” icon. You should see a message that your scene has been saved.

IMPORTANT: Make sure you have all the correct directories mapped within the Diffeomorphic tool in Blender (Scenes, data, etc.) - this is the cause of most issues.

1. In Blender, find the DAZ tab and click on “Import DAZ file”. Navigate to the .json file that was saved in Step 2. Open it.