Problems with Rigid Bodies and "Convex Hull Polytope" Bounds

Hello everybody!

(Hope this really belongs here and not in the Game Engine section)

I am rather new to Blender and I have now recently tried my first animation with rigid bodies and now I have some little problems with that animation.

I’ve basically turned my object into an actor and tweaked all its settings, as “Bounds” type I chose “Convex Hull Polytope”, since it is a toy amunition ring (I’ve posted a thread about modelling that somewhere else in the forum), which means it is neather a sphere, nor a box, but a more complex mesh.

Now I’ve alt-duplicated this object serveral times and let them all fall down on some plane and interact. The result is quite ok, but not really perfect. You can have a look here at YouTube.

As you can see the main problem is: The “Convex Hull Polytope” bounds are not calculated perfectly. In the end the rings are not really lying on the plane, they are rather flying a bit above it.

My question: Is there a way to get a more accurate calculation of these bounds? Or is there another easy way to fix this? The only thing I can think of at the moment is to change the camera position so I have a overhead shot in the end, so you wouldn’t really see that they are not directly on the plane and on top of each other.

Then one more thing about this animation: At a certain point the light suddenly gets a bit brighter. I really don’t know why, I haven’t animated any lights and it happens between two frames. Does anyone know what this could be?

Thank you in advance,

MasterDomino

I am no expert on this… But here are some ideas.
http://www.continuousphysics.com/mediawiki-1.5.8/index.php?title=Physics_Tips
at the bottem you can use a script to turn up the precision?

As far as the lights do you have double sided rendering on? I think that I changed that when I had similar flashing lights.

Hello ibkanat!

Thanks for your quick answer.