Product Demo using BGE

Hi. I am a 3d CAD designer but am relatively new to Blender so forgive me if some of the things i want to do are straight forward.

The Project:

The project i am working on at the moment is a product demo for the company i work for. Allowing people with little 3d knowledge to create assemblies of our products in different configurations
The products themselves are modular and fit together almost like a puzzle. The demo will have a floating control panel to the side of the screen and you will be able to click on an icon button and drag and that product will appear so you can place it in the scene. Then you grab another product and place it in the scene or snap it to part of another product.

Products should snap together allowing you to build lots of different configurations.

Other things it should do include being able to save the configuration as you would save a game level. This allows the save to be emailed back to me at the office so i can then export a dxf and dimension a drawing in autocad. Also a print button would be good, and as these products are for the water play industry in leisure centers and swimming pools a tap icon could be used to start water pouring out of the ends.

So the question is:

I think i have the knowledge to do a lot of this, but some of it will be tricky. The snapping together of parts in the game engine for example.
Does anyone have any hits and trick of how to do this?

Sorry for the long post.

Thanks. Oliver.

Could you tell a bit more what things you can and can’t do? :confused: I think the snapping can be done with python, have you got python experience?

I’m new to Blender and Python. But i have found a way to move objects with the mouse using set parent. Also inserting different components into the scene using overlays could be done. But my knowledge of Python is limited

could you please post a blend file of how you did this or explain?
thanks;)