Professional Blender Use

Over the past few years, I find every excuse to use Blender on the job because I think it’s a good, solid package and I love the community and of course, it being open source is amazing.

So far I have used Blender on Call of Duty: Ghosts and am now using it here at DICE on the DLC for Battlefield 4. I’m a Lighting Artist so I don’t build a ton of assets but when I do, I use Blender. The guys I work with don’t mind as long as my objects are set up and exported correctly. The CoD guys were a little more weird about it but a super nice German guy wrote the plugin for exporting my stuff into the Radiant engine and that exporter actually worked better than the one they wrote in-house for Max and Maya. :smiley: Blender’s UVs would also not break out of 0 to 1 on the atlas which Max did all the time, breaking the object for lightmaps. So I worked faster than others who had to manually fix their UVs.

I’m wonder how many other professionals sneak Blender into their projects?

I don’t exactly “sneak” it in, but we are a small Maya shop and I’ve been steadily introducing blender into the shop for a while now. The team has gone from “outright disdain” to “mildly interested” over the past couple of years. :slight_smile:

And I personally have been modeling, animating and rendering most of my output in blender, while at the same time working out some semi-smooth workflows for modeling in blender, animating in maya and round tripping back to blender (using point caching) for rendering in cycles.

The revolution has been slow, but it’s happening. :wink: