Proper way to model and texture space ships???

Hi guys. Im new to Blender and i started to modelling hard surfaces a week ago.

Im trying to model a space ship, well, i dont have real issues about the modelling part, but i find myself in a crossroad because:

I want to make a high poly version just for rendering purposes.

At the same time, i want to make a low poly version because i plan to use the models on unity/unreal engine.

Im using grebbles to make the ship. This means, i have tons of pieces scattered along the main hull.

So, my first two big questions are:

What is the proper workflow to texture and uvmapping all these pieces???
I imagine i need to uvmap each one of em, group em, and layout the uvs??

How do i make the low poly version from the high poly?? should i just erase most of the extra pieces and make just the main hull as the only piece?

Note that 75% of the pieces in the “high” poly version are just hard surfaces. I didnt smooth anything, except for a few grebbles here and thee.

I have a model already created in maya, but it was just a test. I used to be a maya user but for reasons i moved to blender (i dont want to know anything about Autodesk anymore) and instead of importing my model i want to start from scratch.

Is there any plugin or any specific workflow i should follow? specially when talking about the texturing/uving.
Who could imagined that hard surface modelling is far more complicated than organic modelling… lol.

Many thanks in advance.

Add-ons :

Hard ops (known to be one of the best Blender add-ons) :
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL0RqAjByAphGEVeGn9QdPdjk3BLJXu0ho

Decal machine (just got released, looks amazing and works in combination with Hard ops) :

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLcEiZ9GDvSdWJMe__2SAWtil--lCXdIsq

Some good spaceship tutorials :

and many others to find on Youtube.

What is the proper workflow to texture and uvmapping all these pieces???