Proposal for Bypassing logic bricks for sensors

In the thread discussing nodal logic it was suggested that python only logic should be made better instead/as well?
I dont see these as mutually exclusive and while looking into the current even system I thaught of this way we could have Python Only events.

http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/User:Ideasman42#BGE_Python_Logic

This isnt even that hard to impliment, and can coexist with existing logic brick setups nicely.

I’m not a heavy programmer python type… but I like the idea of being able to bypass the nodes etc. and just use python… I mean, like the idea of having both options… like using nodes when prototyping… then moving onto python for the complex/final version etc. Thanks for suggesting this proposal.

Hi ideasman,

This sounds cool. There is a potential loss of overview as the user could not immediatly see that a script might react on events that are not displayed within the UI (no sensors to see). But it would provide more powerfull scripting capabilities.

Would that event queue store all events (also from other objects)?

Here are my ideas that cross my mind:
How about an “event sensor” or “event queue sensor”? That could fire as soon as an event is in the event queue. As a side effect it would show the user that a script is reading the event queue.

As an option it could also provide the possibility to filter the events. I think on
“all events”,
“global events” (object independend events like keyboard, mouse),
“local events” (events on the current object like ray)

I like the callback idea.

@Monster, good point, while thinking of this I was looking at event managers and not thinking about sensors that are local to a certain object and have their own settings.

global events are simple and I covered that but local events are not :confused:

Cant think of a way to do this without using logic bricks since the events are based on logic brick settings - ray cast direction for eg.