Proposal for Particle System

Hi everyone.

I’m a newcomer to this forum, and first it looks like a right time to introduce my self. I’m a postgraduate student studying traffic and transportation engineering, more specifically traffic simulation in China. I got to know blender quite early in 2003/2004 when I’m undergraduate but didn’t use it heavily until recently.

Unlike most people in this forum, I’m a sort of tech guy more than a artist(I am even not sure whether I’m a technique guy :o ). So my main use of blender is visualize data set of various kind.

Current I’ve finished a mesoscopic traffic simulation package and with it I can simulate the vehicle traffic in a large road network in Shanghai, China(100000+ vehicles in an area of 16km*16km). The result is huge vehicle trajectory data set and I’m looking for a way to visualize it. Although the simulation package has a GUI that visualize the moving of vehicles using OpenGL but the result is not impressive at all (remember I’m a tech guy:eyebrowlift2:).

But I need to impress my advisor and more importantly the bureaucrats who control our research budgets. Here blender comes as a rescure. The basic idea is import vehicle trajectory data in blender and then have my friend(he is a good artist as you guys:yes:) add some fancy things like shining car model, bright sky, trees, grass, buildings, roads… This way I’m sure I can give them an impressive presentation.

Motivation

Enough introduction, here comes the real tech problem.

Currently I’ve done some preliminary work use blender 2.4x and python script:
http://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?t=161403