Pure Blender For Amazing VFX (VADER EPISODE 1: SHARDS OF THE PAST - A STAR WARS THEORY FAN-FILM)

I’m a 3D and VFX artist who worked on ‘the’ best close as canon Star Wars short film. This film explores Anakin 8 months after becoming Vader. My main role for the VFX in this film was wire removal and compositing. I did not use no other software at all but Blender for everything i created in this film. I had to work with raw 4k DPX Files Filmed by an Alexa ARRI camera. It was about 1.5 months of non-stop work as it had a strict deadline in December 2018. I had so many setbacks within Blender’s compositor which were needed to be solved as quickly as possible because of the deadline. I would say i put in about 800 hours in those 1.5 months or so, i hardly slept. If you have any questions about the process on creating the effects for this film ask me and i will try to help out. -------Watch the film now - https://youtu.be/Ey68aMOV9gc – with over 11 MILLION VIEWS and 640k LIKES

[ALERT FOR DEVELOPERS] If you are a Blender Developer and is working or will work on the compositor and want to know how i think it can become so much better please message me.

Some of the shots i worked on-- Taken from the final film

–Some Pre-Viz Concepts i pitched the director before working or knowing anything about the film.

7 Likes

I saw this when it came out. Excellent work. I loved it. I can’t even begin to image doing all this in Blenders compositor. For wire removal I go to Mocha every single time (and for general lkate cleanups), and how does Blenders keyer compare to Keylight?

I know Blender has a Planer tracker, but I’ve never used it. Does it work in kind of the same way as Mocha?