PyDriver expression to time remap a camera?

Hey,

I’ve got a camera move exported from Syntheyes that matches some footage I’ve shot for a short film.

The problem is, I’ve sped up PART of that footage in After Effects, looks great, but how to get the solved camera in Blender to match up with that footage? I have a curve from After Effects that I’ve applied to the x coordinate of a plane (just somewhere to put it…) so for any given frame in Blender, the plane’s x-coordinate tells what frame that displays AFTER the time remapping (so for example, the new camera’s position at frame 44 must be that of the old camera’s position at frame 49.48157)

I’m not new to programming, but I have never written any code for Blender before and I find it perplexing as to how anybody gets into this. Maybe I’m just not looking in the right places, but I can’t for the life of me find ANY sort of up-to-date reference for what can be used in expressions.

Anyways, what I need is an expression that sets the position of a camera “new camera” to the position of the camera “old camera” at a frame/time x where x is equal to the plane’s x-coordinate at the current time.

In After Effects, one would simply say something like thisComp.layer(“ImALayer”).transform.position.valueAtTime(time)[0]; I can’t find any such function in Blender (nor did I expect to, but I didn’t think I’d have THIS hard of a time adjusting).

So… help a guy out?

EDIT: Please?

In example let’s say that in 20 frames cube travels 10 units.

If I want to remap the time so the cube can travel 10 units in 15 frames then I will have to find an analogy.
15/20 = 0,75

So that means than if I multiply the position of cube with this analogy then at frame 15 I will have reached the exact required position.

Analogy of 44 divided by 49,48157 is 0,8892199661409288, so the position of new object is old value multiplied by the analogy. I am not sure if this goes well but the experiment I did went good. :slight_smile: