Pygame MP3 Looping Question

(invid) #1

I am trying to write a python script that will keep an mp3 looping as long as the SoundOn property (a logic bricks boolean) is TRUE. I would like to do all of the initialization in this same script if possible, and when the SoundOn is false, simply not restart the sound when it reaches the end of the sound. I am not very familiar with python yet, so I am still learning some of its basic syntax etc. Here are some links to the pygame mixer methods etc.:

http://www.blending-online.co.uk/8501/37901.html

If anyone has successfully used pygame to loop sounds etc (this is for a game’s soundtrack), would you mind posting a snippet of how you were able to do this?

THANKS

(Gabio) #2

You’ll have more chance of geting answer for Game engine relelated questions in the Game engine section. even if it’s python.
[moved]

(invid) #3

Thanks, I was wondering which section to post this under.

(goldentaiji) #4

You need 2 scripts. Well that’s how I currently have it setup for the underwater racing game.

Object
Properties:
[bool] Playing (false)
[bool] Play (false)

Property(Changed:Playing)->Python(Sound)
Always(pulse mode on)->Python(SoundCheck)

Sound

import GameLogic as g
import pygame.mixer

c = g.getCurrentController()
o = c.getOwner()

pygame.mixer.music.load('sound')
pygame.mixer.music.play()

SoundCheck

import GameLogic as g
import pygame.mixer

o = c.getOwner()

pygame.mixer.init()
o.Playing = pygame.mixer.music.get_busy()

Lol I should really put this in a separate .blend when I have the time. Hehe make a complementary tutorial to Andy’s.

Hehe, right now the way it is. It’ll loop indefinitely. Off to church now, so maybe I’ll post a .blend file and tutorial up when I get back.

Jason Lin

(invid) #5

Thanks! Yeah, a tutorial would be GREAT!! I am being bad this weekend, skipping church to get the garage cleaned out while I am able to get some help heh.

(invid) #6