Python code port to 2.6

Hi!

I am fairly new to python using Blender and basically I am trying to port the 3rd person template of cray (http://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?t=153042) to make it work in 2.6.

Has anyone done it already?

There are 5 scripts: move the character, control the camera, avoid the collision of the camera using a ray and two more regarding counters of the game and special movements.

The first problems I am finding is just after the imports. Before you could import GameLogic or GameKeys, whereas now you should import bge.logic or bge.events.

from bge import logic
from bge import events

However, the following code still gives errors:

cont = logic.getCurrentController() //Before it was GameLogic.getCurrentController()
own = cont.getOwner()      <----- ERROR
objList = logic.getCurrentScene().getObjectList()  <----- ERROR
front_tget = objList["OBfront"]
back_tget = objList["OBback"]
left_tget = objList["OBleft"]
right_tget = objList["OBright"]
front_right_tget = objList["OBfront_right"]
front_left_tget = objList["OBfront_left"]
back_left_tget = objList["OBback_left"]
back_right_tget = objList["OBback_right"]

In all the scripts I get errors due to getObjectList() and getOwner(). What would be the way of doing this with the 2.6 API?

Any help is welcome.

own = cont.getOwner() <----- ERROR
objList = logic.getCurrentScene().getObjectList() <----- ERROR
to ->
own = cont.owner
objList = logic.getCurrentScene().objects

the next error I think is OBfront , no more “OBfront” but the right name of obj -> “front”

Thanks very much! The other problems seem similar, so I will try to solve all of them when I am free and hopefully come back to post the final scripts and blender file. :slight_smile:

Run them with 2.49
You will receive deprecation warnings in the console.

They will tell you how to solve them. Make sure you read them carefully.
Do that until all deprecation warnings are gone.