Python settime and random choice error

Hi, I’m new to python and attempting to adapt a script for my own use. I’m struggling with a 2 problems.

First, i am trying to set a tracking time but this seems to break my script and cause it to do nothing.

Second, i want the object to pick a target randomly from a list but it constantly selects a new target.

The code is below and i have attached a demo of what I’m doing.

Many thanks, Mike

import bge
import random

def main():

cont = bge.logic.getCurrentController()
    own = cont.owner

near = cont.sensors['CLOSE']
    see  = cont.sensors['VISION']
    hear = cont.sensors['HEARING']
    walls = cont.sensors['WallSearch']
    act = cont.actuators['tracker']
    targetNEAR = near.hitObjectList
    targetSEE  = see.hitObjectList
    targetHEAR = hear.hitObjectList

if see.positive and walls.positive:
        target = random.choice(targetSEE)
        act.object = target
    #   act.setTime(10)
        cont.activate(act)

elif near.positive and walls.positive:
        target = random.choice(targetNEAR)
        act.object = target
    #   act.setTime(10)
        cont.activate(act)

elif hear.positive:
        target = random.choice(targetHEAR)
        act.object = target
    #   act.setTime(100)
        cont.activate(act)

else:
        cont.deactivate(act)  

main()

HELPME.blend (404 KB)

Do something like this:

if not "target" in own: //if a target hasn't been acquired
        if see.positive: //when see is positive
            own["target"] = random.choice(targetSEE) //set target

else: //if target has been acquired
        track.object = own["target"] //set the track object
        cont.activate(track) //track

Thanks for the reply but i don’t seem to be able to get this to work, would it be possible for you to show it in my current code as im not sure im even inserting it correctly.

Regards, Mike

act.setTime(10)

should be

act.time = 10