Question about Absolute Dimensions

I’m just starting out with Blender and I’m thoroughly hooked on it. I’d like to start getting serious even whilst I’m learning tutorials, and possibly start modeling objects that I can use permanently in future animations. With this in mind I’d like to ask if there is any advantage to starting out with some sort of absolute ‘scale’.

For example, if I model a house, a main character, and a small fairy, I’d like for all of these objects to be the correct sizes relative to each other.

Is there any advantage in creating these objects using some sort of absolute units so I know what their relative sizes will be? I realize that things can be scaled up and down arbitrarily, but I’m still wondering if there is any advantage to modeling objects using standard units to begin with, and if so, how do I go about setting that up?

Thanks

With blender 2.49b it is not possible, eg. the most people work with 1 Blender Unit is one meter.
In 2.57b you could set dimensions to metric or imperial in the scene settings in the properties .panel.
With the default settings the standard cube is two meters wide, like in 2.49b two Blender Units.

Cheers, mib

There is no inherent advantage to creating things in relative scale, and in fact it can be quite the opposite when working with very small things. As long as things are in the correct scale at the time of render, you should be fine.

I suppose it’s good practice to have a certain scale for things; say you created a house and wanted to add it to another scene…

may not seem a lot of bother, but it helps keep you organised…

You’ve brought up a pet peeve of mine.
One blender unit = one meter.
Everyone should now go to the chalkboard and write this one hundered times, “One blendre unit = one meter”