Question about actually creating a game..

Hey, I’m a [email protected] and I have no idea what I’m doing.

Now that I have that established, I have a few questions about blender:

I just downloaded blender last week, and have played around with it for a bit and found out it can be used to create games (via this forum lol)
Can one actually create a hole game with blender? One that’s package in an .exe or such and can be installed and played on others computers?
I’ve always wanted to make my own game, and it would be cool if I could do it with blender as I already have became somewhat familiar with the interface.

Could any of you link me to some beginner tutorials on game making in blender? I mean serious beginner here lol the basics

Anyway, do you guys think it would be possible to create a game as good as, say… CS (first version) Or maybe a game like AudioSurf or anything, I’ve really always wanted to create an online game like FPS or MMORPG others could play lol

Simple answer, yes you can but it can take quite a while to learn the range of skills.

The Blender Gamekit is a great book for learning the Game Engine. It’s a pay product, but you can legally download the older version of it from http://download.blender.org/documentation/gamekit1/

There’s also quite a few good tutorials around. My favourite beginner one is the collection at:
http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/BSoD/Introduction_to_the_Game_Engine/The_basics_of_the_Blender_GE

(just make sure to keep clicking for the next tutorial at the bottom of each page).

Have fun!

Welcome to Blender and the Blender game engine. You can create any game imaginable if you have the skills. A good site is www.tutorialsforblender3d.com. And the forum is a great place to learn.

I have a number of links to resources and tutorials on blender, the game engine, if you click on “resources” in my sig. Includes a few from tutorialsforblender3d.com

Welcome to the forums!