Question about armatures

Hello,
I’m fairly new to blender, and have been experimenting with animating characters via armatures. i was following a guide in the manual, but have come across a problem, where the manual isn’t specific. i know this may seem like a very simple question that everyone should know, but I’m confused on it. if you are creating a skeleton, and you place one armature, do you extrude the next in edit mode, or add another in object mode? also, how would you effectively link it to a mesh, let’s say you have 30 bones, if they have to be added as separate objects, then would you need to add 30 modifiers to effect the mesh?
Also, on a similar topic, how would you build in armatures for facial expressions, such as eye movement, lip movement, tung movement, blinking, etc.?
any help is appreciated, thanks

1. you add/extrude additional bones in Edit Mode for per armature object

2. if you have separate objects/meshes and you want to link them to an armature bone you can simply parent them by selecting the object then shift-select the bone you want to link to and hit Ctrl-P in Pose Mode(Ctrl-Tab with the armature selected) - no modifiers needed … though in future versions you will have the child of constraint …

3. most people use shape keys to animate facial expressions etc. though you can through vertex groups in conjunction with hooks/ armature bones/ whatever to animate them as well … you should look at the manual for more details …

I tried that, however the mesh was not moved correctly, instead of it looking like the limbs were moving naturally, it seemed to distort to fit around the bone. it also did not drag other parts with it. for example, i had a bone for the hand, when i went to rotate that after parenting, the hand moved, but the tips of the fingers did not, staying on the same place.

do you know of a guide that goes into that in detail? so far i have yet to see anything about hooks, or specifying vertex groups in the manual.