Question about Blender's overall filesize

I’m not a coder. I started to learn Python and just felt a little exhausted by it. Maybe I’ll pick it back up one day.
I picked up little bits of how coding works, but just sorta overall basics.

I’ve used Maya before a long time ago before the trial ran out, and tons of other software, and I feel Blender, for all it can do, has a pretty small file size, when I go to download the latest copy.

Does anyone else think this? Does anyone else disagree and think it’s too big? Is it just me? Is Blender wrapped up nicely in a tight little package because of how the tools are implemented into the core program? Or is it really just a decent file size and I’m wrong?
I guess it’s a weird question, but it’s something I’ve always wondered about.

Autodesk products come with hundreds of materials, textures, help documents, training videos, DRM software, demo scenes and other things that eat up disk space. Blender comes with just Blender (for better or for worse).

If you ask a coder, it’s way too big.

from a user viewpoint;

I can´t stand programs which take seconds or getting near half a minute or worse, just for loading the UI and plastering my eyes with floating windows. ugh

it is like getting forced to see all the unskippable and unnecessary intros and trailers and drm warnings on bought items.

don´t force me to wait!

Blender makes it more than right, it loads almost instantly due to its filesize and that helps my creativity.

Yup. Blender’s pretty light compared to Maya which is a couple gigs or so.:slight_smile:

Blender doesn’t load fast becase the executable size is small, in comparison to other applications it’s actually pretty big.
Also I don’t believe that maya’s executable is several gigs large.

It’s really big actually, but the size of main executable doesn’t tell a lot (something of course…). The current Windows release has about 1700 files. Really.

Maya checks and loads a lot of shit when you start it.