Question about Creative Commons licenses

This is probably the wrong section, but I’m not sure where else to put it. Please move it if appropriate.

My question is simple: If I get a prop that is (for example) CC-BY, that means that I have to give credit if I make a derivative work. But does making a render that includes that prop count as a derivative work?

In other words, do I have to give credit for every Creative Commons Attribution prop I use in any render, or does that only apply if I release a blend file (or similar) that contains the prop, or things derived from it?

This is a good question and a shame no one has given a solid answer.

I’m no expert but my thoughts on this for what it’s worth…

If you’re not planning to profit from your project or the object is insignificant in the background, has been reasonably modified or is generically available I doubt the owner would be aware of its use or even care. If it is reasonably prominent you probably SHOULD but it can be a gray area whether you MUST

If you are planning to make a reasonable profit from the project (for example a movie) I think you SHOULD give attribution regardless how prominent a part it plays even though legally it may or may not be required.

There is a lot of variables and gray area with what is legally and morally right. It is only illegal if you get caught. But I think most artists would appreciate some attribution or recognition where it is reasonable to do so

1 Like

I prefer a more literal interpretation -

Attribution
CC BY

This license lets others distribute, remix, adapt, and build upon your work, even commercially, as long as they credit you for the original creation. This is the most accommodating of licenses offered. Recommended for maximum dissemination and use of licensed materials.

That suggests if you don’t credit the original creator, you don’t have permission to use it.

1 Like