Question from an aspiring filmmaker (2D/3D Hybrid animated series)?

Hello BlenderArtists.

So, this is my first post here and it’ll probably be a long one, so please bear with me.
I’m new to both Blender and the community - and like many others, I’ve been blown away by the possibilities now at my fingertips.

I have a question that I hope some of you’ll be able to help me with. But before I go into too much detail about my questions, let me just give you some backstory.

I’m a 33-year-old aspiring freelance writer/director from Denmark. I was raised by American TV and movies, so it was only natural that I wanted to build worlds, environments, characters and stories growing up. When I was a kid I initially wanted to become a concept artist, later a storyboard artist, then a 2D animator until I took a huge left turn wanting to become a filmmaker.

Now fast forward a decade or so and I began my studies in physiotherapy – Yes, you read that right, a complete derailing from my initial hopes, dreams and ambitions. I didn’t have the courage or confidence to pursue a career in filmmaking. So instead I found something stable. There were good job opportunities thus more financial security and a couple of my friends were also well into taking their degree in physiotherapy. So I thought; ”Why the hell not?”

3½ years later in 2014 I finished up my bachelor’s degree and became an authorized physio and everything was all fine and dandy. I started working, was happy and wanted to better myself as a therapist. I thought I had found myself a satisfying career. But that only lasted until stress and depression came on knocking and ultimately kicked my door in. I’d strayed so far from my creative passions that it was ripping me apart. I was following someone else’s journey, not my own and I was devastated.

So, in September 2019, I decided to turn everything around and focus all my time and energy on building a career within the film industry.